Much too young to feel this damn old: GAP – Day 320

Today’s GAP post is for gratitude.

I spent several hours of playing front yard football with the boys today. We had some friends who also have teenage boys, which meant a pretty good game of 3-on-3 with me playing all-time quarterback. After a couple of missed opportunities, Seth decided he should be all-time QB, which meant I was running all over the place blocking and trying to receive (I say trying because I dropped two would be touchdown passes).

Aside from being a little winded and moving slower on a few of the plays, it felt good to be running around and keeping competitive pace with the younger boys. However, as I write this, I know darn well I am going to be sore tomorrow.

It’s crazy how fast your body changes when it comes to physically demanding activity, especially when you don’t condition it daily. At 31, I still feel like I’m invincible; I’m still fast on a sprint, and on a good day I can hurdle our back yard fence. But how long will I have it? I fully plan to be mobile and active forever. In fact, I’d love to be able to scrap it up in the front yard with our grandkids one day… provided they let the old man play. 🙂

Earlier this year I did a round of P90X with Seth. Now that it’s been about two months since I was on that daily routine, I can feel and see the difference in my body and tone. I suppose I should get back on that horse, even if just for a couple of times per week. One thing is for sure: I am much too young to feel this damn old. I enjoy every chance I get to be one of the boys, but I know I’ll feel it tomorrow. But for now, I am grateful that I am in good enough shape to be physical and play the sport I love. 

Leave a comment