What’s your personal mission statement?

A recent assignment in my Performance Management class required me to develop a personal mission statement. 

Companies all over the world strive to align their team and their resources to their mission statement. It tells us who they are and who they want to be in the future. The same is true of your personal mission statement, which should be an honest assessment of who you are now and who you will become. In business and in your personal life, one must be intentional, and it has to be a declaration that the organization, or the individual, can proudly stand behind.

The professor recommended using Franklin Covey’s personal mission statement builder, which walks you through 10 question sets and then populates your answers into mission statement format.

Pretty cool, right? It is very cool – and very long. After submitting the long version, I was asked to pare it down to a short paragraph. I put a lot of thought into this because I want it to be both genuine and realistic; something I can frame and post on my office wall to remind me of what I should aspire to on a daily basis.

I thought I would go out on a limb here and share it with you – for accountability to myself, and also to inspire you to consider writing your own personal mission statement. Here goes:

I believe a life well-lived is one that loves fully, gives freely, and adds value to others. I am a person of action and will accept responsibility for the integrity of my steps. I will pursue life-long personal growth. When I fail, I will strengthen my “why” and try again. I will boldly stand for and protect my wife, my kids, my friends, my values, my faith, and my country. I am chosen by my Creator and I will steward His resources well.

What is your personal mission statement?

So – who are you? What do you believe about yourself? How will you choose to live your remaining years? Click here to try Franklin Covey’s personal mission statement builder.

If you’re feeling brave, please share your own personal mission statement below!

One thought on “What’s your personal mission statement?

  1. Pingback: If You Want to Go, You Have Grow | IN the Lead

Leave a Reply

