I’m giving up

Darren Hardy Quote

I recently watched a video sent to me by my Peak Performance partner, which was a live workshop taping of my mentor, Darren Hardy. In this session, he gives what he calls the secrets of super-achievers. As he describes, there is a difference between overachievers and super-achievers. Overachievers accomplish a lot but see less than desired results, while super-achievers are just the opposite – they do less and see optimum results.

Now, by doing less he does not mean to become lazy or to punt things down the field. Watch this brief clip from the workshop: http://www.tubechop.com/watch/4451082

So, the question is: what am I willing to give up?

As I listened to this portion of the talk, I began to think of things that I could quit doing that are simply not worth what I believe to be the value of my time. Again, the idea is not to start a list of things that are below me… but rather, a list of things that I should either cut out of day, or things that I should delegate to others.

As a personal example: our home has a long driveway that is completely covered with the heavy snowfall and drifting that we’ve had over the past week. I got stuck in our driveway this morning while heading out to a kid activity. After several minutes of the forward-reverse game, attempting to push, a couple of swear words, and the promise to move somewhere warm, I was able to get the tires moving down the driveway. When I returned home, I decided to suit up and head out to shovel at least our garage apron. I quickly found out that after several days of driving over the snow, and with very low temperatures, I could not break much of the under layer loose with the snow shovel.

Rather than fighting with the shovel, or taking on the frustration of being stuck, shouldn’t I call a neighbor or local contractor who can plow our driveway within a matter of minutes? When I think about it, this is a no-brainer. For a mere $20 I can trade hours of physical strain and the frustration of being stuck in my own driveway! There’s a task I should delegate – my time is worth way more than what it would cost to give up that task to someone far more capable.

I have decided on a couple of things that I’m giving up on my way to going from over-achiever to super-achiever:

  1. I will stop following the political mess in Washington: This one is hard for me, so it goes to the top. I am not choosing to be an uninformed citizen, but I am choosing to avoid being sucked into the garbage that happens between our crappy politicians. Their drama, and the political pundits, are not worth my time.
  2. I will stop allowing myself to waste time on Facebook and other social media: I want to be connected to folks, social media channels can quickly become massive time warps. It is not worth my time.
  3. I will stop going to bed so late: This is a major point from this week’s mentor sessions with Darren – go to bed early, get up early. Benjamin Franklin once said, “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.” So, even though that voice in my brain may be telling me I’m not tired, I will set my goal to shut everything down and go to bed no later than 10 p.m. Staying up late for any other reason is not worth my time.

These are relatively easy wins, but also areas that will give me back the time I need to focus on becoming world-class in other areas.

The three step formula to becoming a super-achiever

Darren explains in the clip that super-achievers suck at a lot of things, but are world-class in one or two things. Overachievers tend to become mediocre at many things and world-class in none. Darren also talks about the secret of super-achievers is the ability to say “no.” He goes on later in the presentation to give the three simple steps that every super-achiever does – Richard Branson, Donald Trump, Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Warren Buffet – three things they do to remain super-achievers.

Want to know what they are? Of course you do. Watch the full video here.

What are you willing to give up to achieve more? Share below:

Leave a Reply

