Write a positivity reminder

Check your P.M.A.!

This is a photo of my laptop screen. Although you can’t see much of it, the background photo is from the Eastern ridge overlooking Hanalei Bay, Kauai.  It’s a beautiful photo, which has been my desktop background for almost a year. It reminds me that there is beauty born of chaos. Volcanic eruptions formed these islands, and now they are among the most beautiful places on Earth.

Write yourself a note

Then, there’s the little note at the top center. You probably noticed that first. I wrote this note and taped it to the top of my laptop screen as a reminder to look up and check my P.M.A. in times when it seems most chaotic.

This week has been one of those times that seemed chaotic. Of course, we’re right on top of the holidays. Our area received a big dose of early snow (although not anywhere as bad as Buffalo, NY). Snow + frigid temperatures delayed several projects at work. In fact, we’re already behind on several projects that still need to be finished with suitable weather. Monthly sales are lower than forecast, and we’re heading into a major holiday week. We’re a little short-handed in staff, as most of our team is dealing with separate personal traumatic events. I have a customer issue I can’t quite figure out how to resolve.

It’s chaotic.

Check your P.M.A.

At the consideration of all of this, I have to remind myself to stay positive – to check my positive mental attitude. Where is it? Can I find it? Will I chose to deploy it? After all, all of the above mentioned woes are affecting more people than just me – someone has to remain positive around here!

Of course, it’s much easier said than done at times.

Like anything else, the more you practice and hone a skill, it becomes more natural with less effort. And so the same is true of keeping a positive attitude. I have felt a bit positivity-challenged over the past few weeks, which means I am clearly out of practice. There’s enough negativity in the world – why should I willingly contribute to the pile?

Over the next few weeks, I’ll have this little reminder in front of me for most of my day. I think it will help.

What works for you?

Drop me a note in the comments – what helps you stay positive in the middle of chaos?

3 thoughts on “Write a positivity reminder

  1. Great article! Thoroughly enjoyed your PMA story. Music, chocolate and a moment to myself (all three simultaneously preferred) are just a few things that helps me to stay positive, lol. I just recently joined wordpress and my blogsite is still under construction. Looking forward to reading more of your blogs; happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

